Central Thailand, Feb. 9, 2015: officers from 24 countries at the opening ceremony for the yearly Cobra Gold multilateral military exercises, the largest drills of the kind in Southeast Asia (photo: dpa)

An American perspective on intersecting interests in the Asia-Pacific

The Asia Pacific region can be geopolitically conceived as three intersecting circles of national interests. Circle one comprises the United States and its treaty allies – Japan, the Republic of Korea, Australia, the Philippines, Thailand and Singapore. Circle two contains the countries in the region most closely aligned with the People’s Republic of China – North Korea, its sole treaty relationship in the region; Cambodia, Burma and Laos. Circle three encompasses the 10 member countries of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) – Indonesia, Singapore, Malaysia, Thailand, Vietnam, the Philippines, Brunei, Laos, Burma and Cambodia.



Unlock the report
8.95 EUR
Secure, instant payment by credit card
 Walter Lohman
The distinguishing interests of the ASEAN circle include national autonomy, economic development and regional peace. It was to secure these interests that Southeast Asian countries first banded together in 1967. Indeed, ASEAN did serve during the Cold War (1947 – 1991) to resist the push of international communism
read more about it in the report
Who will benefit?
  • Report is targeted to the decision makers in cross country manufacturing – suppliers, manufacturers, logistics.
  • Also considered useful for the administrative university facilities, to better understand the possible effects of current decisions.
By clicking "I Agree" below, you acknowledge that you accept our Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions. Feel free to check out our policies anytime for more information.
I agree