Egypt's President Mohamed Morsi told Indian Prime Minister Manmohan Singh of his interest in the BRICS (photo:dpa)

BRICS: The economic grouping that has yet to flex its muscle

Five countries – Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa – make up the group of emerging economies known as BRICS. The organisation is often viewed as having growing influence and power on regional and global affairs. But internal divisions among its members have cast doubt on its ability to rival Western institutions on the world stage any time soon.

BRAZIL, Russia, India, China and South Africa together represent 27 per cent of the world’s gross domestic product (GDP). This should mean that BRICS, the economic grouping of which these five economies are members, should, on paper, be a power to be reckoned with.

But many observers are asking why...

Unlock the report
8.95 EUR
Secure, instant payment by credit card or bank transfer
 Pramit Pal Chaudhuri
There appears to be little attempt by the BRICS nations to coordinate their differing policies at the World Trade Organisation
read more about it in the report
Who will benefit?
  • Report is targeted to the decision makers in cross country manufacturing – suppliers, manufacturers, logistics.
  • Also considered useful for the administrative university facilities, to better understand the possibe effects of current decisions.
By clicking "I Agree" below, you acknowledge that you accept our Privacy Policy and Terms and conditions. Feel free to check out our policies anytime for more information.
I agree