Kashmir, a northwestern Indian subcontinent region is bounded by China's Uygur Autonomous Region of Xinjiang to the northeast and the Tibet Autonomous Region to the east, by the Indian states of Himachal Pradesh and Punjab to the south, by Pakistan to the west, and by Afghanistan to the northwest. The northern and western portions of Kashmir are administered by Pakistan, the southern and southeastern portions by India. The Indian- and Pakistani-administered portions are divided by a “line of control” agreed to in 1972, although neither country recognizes it as an international boundary. Since 1962, China has controlled the easternmost portion of the region.

Reports on Kashmir See all

Indian army vehicles in the Himalayan mountains

GIS Dossier: India and China’s conflict in Tibet

The poorly defined border on the Tibetan plateau has for decades been the scene of skirmishes between China and India. Now part of a broader geopolitical confrontation driven by Beijing’s push to dominate Asia, this conflict is gaining momentum and becoming ever harder to manage. 

By clicking "I Agree" below, you acknowledge that you accept our Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions. Feel free to check out our policies anytime for more information.
I agree