Regional integration at the Three Seas summit

A map of existing and proposed energy and transportation infrastructure in Central and Eastern Europe
The Three Seas Initiative includes several proposed railways, highways, and energy pipelines that would link the group’s 12 member states (source: macpixxel for GIS)
  • Poland is leading the Three Seas Initiative, aiming to improve integration in Central and Eastern Europe
  • A lack of integration on issues like energy and transportation makes the region feel vulnerable
  • Most of the proposed projects are on paper, awaiting outside investment and support from the EU

On September 17, leaders from Central and Eastern Europe gathered in Bucharest to take part at the third Three Seas Initiative (TSI) summit. Jointly led by Poland and Croatia, the TSI promotes cooperation between the Baltic, the Adriatic and Black Seas, and includes 12 European Union member states: Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia. Polish President Andrzej Duda proposed the initiative during his inauguration speech and has been its driving force. But as the largest power among the TSI states, Poland was circumspect enough to let Croatia begin the summit.

Not a subscriber yet?

Subscribe now and get the latest in-depth geopolitical analysis and forecasts from GIS’s unrivaled cadre of experts.

Learn more about our subscription plans.

You can also buy this report for €8.99 Buy

Add your comment